What is a "Track"?

Follow

Recording a track supports you in your outdoor activities and represents a truly reliable portrayal of any route you have taken. 

You can find your tracks on your profile under "My Page"> "Contents"> "Tracks".

HOW TO START, PAUSE AND END A RECORDING ON YOUR SMARTPHONE

 

Tap the record icon shown on the bottom bar of the app to start recording. The recording itself will begin once you press "Start". Please note that your GPS signal will need to have been activated by this point. You can find out more about determining your current location and aligning your map view here

It is possible whilst recording to continue to display the interactive altitude profile which also gives you your current altitude, the time you have spent moving and your current and average speeds. To access this, tap on the arrow under the upper gray bar showing the distance covered, altitude and the elapsed time. Swipe left and right to switch between information.

Click on "Pause" to stop the recording . You can then choose either to continue recording or end it altogether. The recording will then be saved on your "Overview"> "Contents"> "Tracks" page. Or you can opt to save it as a route, which you can edit and publish later.

 

 

 

STATISTICS: WHAT DATA GETS COLLECTED?

 

Various data are compiled while recording your track, which can then be viewed under the statistics section. The main considerations are the duration and distance of your recording as well speeds and altitude changes. The following is captured and displayed:

  • Route
  • Duration
  • Ascent
  • Descent
  • Average speeds 

The statistics feature show you more specific values relating to your speed and altitude changes.

 

Speed:

  • Your average speed
  • Your maximum speed
  • Your average speed uphill
  • Your average speed downhill

 

Elevation profile:

  • The highest point
  • The lowest point
  • The route going uphill
  • The route going downhill

 

CROPPING YOUR TRACK

Started your recording too early or left it running by accident? No problem! You can easily crop the beginning and end of the track. This function can be found in the app as well as on the web version by clicking on "Edit track" followed by "Crop track". A slider  then appears that allows you to move the start and end points. Any changes you make will also be reflected in the number of kilometers and the track's time.  

Your cropped track will be displayed once saved. You can always return to how it was before if you cropped incorrectly or simply want to go back to the original recording.

 

TRACKING USING A TEMPLATE

 

Existing routes can be used as a template when recording, with the route shown on the map at the same time as you are creating your track. 

To do this, select "More"> "Use as template" from the menu bar on the route's details page. This function also applies to your plans or any other previously recorded tracks.

 

TROUBLESHOOTING

 
  • Check in the settings whether location detection has been allowed.
    • iOS: "Settings" ⇒ "General" ⇒ "Location Services
    • Android: "Settings" ⇒ "Privacy & Security" ⇒ "Location"
  • iOS: In order to record tracks, the app must be allowed to update the background ("Settings" ⇒ "General" ⇒ "Background update").
  • Android: Check in the location settings of your smartphone whether "High accuracy" is selected.
  • Energy-saving should always be deactivated when location detection is running via GPS signal (this is especially important when recording), otherwise the higher battery consumption often leads to it being switched off.
  • Dropouts can naturally occur whenever the GPS signal is weak. It is best to check regularly whether the reception is good and not to stow your smartphone too deep in your backpack.
  • If the recordings contain straight lines that lead away from the route: Please check to see whether you deactivated  "Wi-Fi Scanning" under the "Advanced settings" of 'Loction' within your device's general settings (Android).

GOOD TO KNOW

 

The Outdooractive app should be used if it is your specific intention to create a track. When creating a route, the geometry of the track is copied and the original track is retained.

If you import a GPX track from another device, it will always saved as "Plan", which can also be expanded into a full route. 

Have more questions? Submit a request